Finding UK fabric shops

I don’t know about you but I have no patience with shopping on the high street and find that a lot of the main chain stores have largely the same stuff in them anyway, and generally not the kind of stuff I want to buy, for this reason I am a HUGE eBayaholic and love to have a good browse for a bargain from the comfort of my computer chair. I love telling people that the new top I’m wearing only cost me a fiver INCLUDING postage off of eBay, though I should keep these bargains to myself rather than appear so cheap! I’m just so pleased and want to share it with people!

It’s also come particularly in handy when ordering stuff for my quilt and much of the stuff I’ve used/will be using has come from there. I think it’s hard to find interesting fabrics in the UK which are modern and fresh without paying the world for them, in my quest for a quilt that doesn’t completely break the bank I’ve found some amazing online shops on there, here are just a few worth looking at:

Favouritefabrics1
Cottonsquares

Juliescraftythings
Jeanesdecoupageandfabricshop

Other great places to find interestng fabrics which won’t break the bank include:

Tonicliving – retro inspired fabrics
Tikkilondon – haberdashery in Kew, London
Seamstar – new, very cool and kitsch fabrics
Sewmamasew – great American based fabric shop
Cottonpatch – Patchwork and quilting UK based shop

In my online travels to find these things I’ve also come across such a huge range of wonderful sites out there containing beautiful hand crafter/designed/picked stuff that you just won’t find on the high street…unless you’re lucky enough to live somewhere which still has lovely unique shops – I don’t sadly So just a few of them:

Etsy – US based community of crafters selling all things handmade & vintage (UK/EU based sellers too)
Folksy – the UK equivalent of etsy, not quite as great yet but getting there I think
Envelop – hand illustrated cotton basics
Seltzer Studios – boutique for home decor, gifts and accessories
Stardust Online – vintage boutique
Makers Online – selection of handmade goods

Are you an online shopping junkie? What are your favourite online shops?

I love getting comments!...

