Introducing the ladies…

I thought it was about time to own up – we have bunnies.

One day, earlier this year, we decided to stop talking about it (because I do so love to procrastinate) and to actually get them. I have NEVER had bunnies, never even picked one up but somehow we decided this was a good idea! Although I suppose people have never had babies and still do it…don’t think that comparison will work though…Anyway, I was seriously nervous to start with but I’m getting the hang of it now. Six months on I’m not at all keen on the cleaning hutch side of it and am regularly covered in scratches – not so good at the picking them up still – but I wouldn’t change it for the world as something about watching the crazy ladies (and they are CRAZY) running around their hutch or pen makes me smile and that’s worth it!

Whilst I’m not one of those people who can’t stop talking about my pet (at least I hope I’m not!) I must admit to being exceptionally proud of just how amazingly cute they are – as if I had some part in their making. But seriously these are the cutest bunnies I have ever seen and I don’t think I’m being biased! So without further ado I introduce Madame Helga and Miss Betty…

 

Netherland Dwarf rabbits

Helga on the left and Betty on the right

 

Grey rabbits in a run

Just hopping around!

Small grey rabbit looking cute

Too too cute!

 

Betty rabbit looking cute

This is right before she decides to thump off in a strop!

 

With winter approaching we’ve decided that we need to upgrade their pad a little,  a la pimp, and make it a little more weatherproof and cosy. The plan is to add some more waterproofing (AKA plastic sheeting), seal the inside with rabbit friendly varnish (as it appears their wee is actually devil acid) and buy a proper snug to keep the outside drier than our current tarp arrangement. I’ll see if I can get some photos whilst we’re doing this but I might be too busy laughing at Mr B’s attempts to BE MAN, DO DIY 🙂 I don’t think this is a phenomena that’s restricted to him, to be fair, but it’s funny nevertheless!

I love getting comments!...

