Recipe – Middle Eastern Meatballs: Meals in 15 minutes

I love cumin!

I love cumin!

Now I have been watching Jamie over the last couple of weeks and some of the things he has made have been mouthwateringly gorgeous but he does go on a bit doesn’t he? I’m all for having a roast mid week but fillet of beef?!?! I wouldn’t be able to stretch to that if the queen was coming let alone for my Thursday night supper! And he talks about ‘telling the story’ by putting herbs on top of a dish to dress it? Or using a plastic bag to dress his salad in to ‘cut down on washing up’, this is after having just dirtied EVERYTHING else in his kitchen?!? We all know that there’s some poor thing who has to wash it all up afterwards, they probably don’t get to eat any of it either. I’d love someone hovering in my kitchen who’ll wash up after I’ve finished…so clearly my criticism of Jamie is just jealousy! 😉

However, mid watching him ‘rustle’ up a pork penne ragu and frangipane tarts I realised that I was supposed to be cooking our dinner. I was going to do this Russian dish which involved wrapping a pork and rice stuffing in blanched cabbage leaves, topping with a spicy tomato sauce and roasting in the oven. I’ve done it before and it was great but waaaaayyyy too much effort with the way I was feeling so I settled on Middle Eastern style meatballs with pitta bread, watercress, creme fraiche and salsa. A meal which took moments to make and tasted DELICIOUS!

Middle Eastern Meatballs
Serves 4

250g/8.5oz pork mince
1 small onion, very finely diced
1 egg
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp garlic puree
1 tsp chilli puree
1/2 tsp ground coriander
2 tbsps chopped fresh coriander
1/2 tsp salt
plenty of freshly ground black pepper

1. Heat some oil in a frying pan.
2. Mix the mince, onion, egg, cumin, garlic, chilli, salt, ground pepper, ground coriander and fresh coriander in a bowl.
3. Form into small balls (about 12).
4. Add the meat balls to the pan and fry on one side till browned and turn over, about 3 minutes on each side.
5. Toast some pitta breads and serve with creme fraiche, watercress and salsa.

I love getting comments!...

