Recipe – Smoked haddock fishcakes: low fat and delicious!

I have indeed been rubbish, I could make some excuse about work being crazy (my workload has been enormous lately) but I’m still rubbish – if you want to do something, you find the time!

I’ve still been crafting and I’m a third of the way through my new knitted blanket, I’m almost comfortable with knitting…though I’m convinced that my technique is wrong but it gets the job done so who cares? 😉 I’m still plodding on with my Grandmother quilt as well and am thinking…possibly…maybe about trying to make something for a friends wedding in a couple of months – probably need to get moving with that one then!

Anyway, more on those at another date – because I’m going to try and be less rubbish – but now I thought I’d share with you a recipe I cooked last week that was delicious, easy to cook, good value and well worth repeating…

Smoked haddock fishcakes
Serves 4
1 large smoked haddock fillet, lightly poached in milk
200g potatoes, chopped with skins on
1 leek, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1 dried chilli, finely chopped
1 egg, beaten
Salad to serve

1. Turn the oven onto 100 degrees celsius

2. Put the potatoes in a large saucepan and cover with water, bring to the boil.
3. Simmer for 10 minutes or until soft.
4. Drain and leave to steam dry.
5. Add a small amount of olive oil to a frying pan and heat on a medum heat.
6. Once the oil thins add the leek, garlic and chilli. Fry for 2-3 minutes until softened.
7. Flake the haddock fillet and add to the pan, stir to combine.
7. Drain any fat left in the pan and add to a mixing bowl.
8. Mash the potatoes and season generously.

9. Add the mash to the leek mixture and mix to combine.
10. Add the egg, salt and pepper and mix to combine.


11. Shape into 8 cakes and put on a plate, chill in the fridge for a half hour.
12. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a frying pan and once the oil has thinned add the cakes. I find it best to cook these in batches, putting them on a baking tray in the oven whilst the others cook.

13. Serve with seasonal veg.

One thought on “Recipe – Smoked haddock fishcakes: low fat and delicious!

  1. I made these earlier in the week – with a few improvised ammendments according to what was in the fridge! (onions instead of leeks and I added some ginger) Lubbly Jubbly!

I love getting comments!...

