Recipe – Summer Stew

Having already written this post once I’m slightly irritated to now be writing it again – it’s like I’m getting old and slightly senile and imagining that I’ve done things when I haven’t but I know I wrote this post. Thank you Google for letting me know that you would be deleting any trace of it…oh wait, you didn’t tell me did you? Rubbish!

Anyway, this was completely and utterly of my own creation and I was more than a little proud of myself whilst eating it – the only thing we were missing was some nice crusty bread so I would definitely recommend adding some of that…maybe a drop of wine 😉 But the flavours were really lovely and it took moments of prep to put together. Recipe as follows…

Jo’s Summer Stew
Serves 3-4

1 pack of 8 sausages (cumberland are always good)
2 carrots, cubed
1 leek, finely sliced
1 tsp thyme (I used dried but fresh would be fine)
500ml chicken stock (homemade is always better!)
2 tbsps white wine vinegar
1 tbsps dijon mustard
1 tin cannelini beans, drained and rinsed

1. Turn the oven onto 200 degrees C.

2. Heat a heavy based casserole dish on the hob and fry off the sausages until the are nicely browned all over. About 3-5 minutes.

3. Remove the sausages but keep the fat in the pan. Add the carrots and leek, fry for 2-5 mins until nicely softened. Add the thyme and stir to mix.

4. Add the stock, vinegar, mustard and beans. Stir to combine and bring to the boil.

5. Season generously and add the sausages. Bring back to the boil.

6. Put the lid on the pan and put in the oven for 30-40 minutes, taking the lid off for the last 10 minutes of cooking to get the top nicely browned.

One thought on “Recipe – Summer Stew

  1. I wondered where the post had gone! I can vouch for you, you are not going senile – the post was here and then it was gone. Glad it's back sounds yummy x

I love getting comments!...

