Recipe – Roasted chicken breast with puy lentils and braised red cabbage

I was also a little productive with food over the weekend – I got a MASSIVE red cabbage in my Abel and Cole box on Friday along with some cooking apples and loads of onions and a lovely recipe for red cabbage so it was inevitable. I did then have to think of something vaguely GI-like to have with it so the following was born…

First of all, follow this recipe for the cabbage – I’ve never actually followed a recipe for cabbage that took less effort so I’d definitely recommend it and the finished results were fantastic! Though there’s a lot of chopping to start with (cabbage, apple and onion), you can then just leave it in the oven and check on it every now and then. I did roast mine for longer than the 90 minutes they suggest as I like my cabbage super soft and almost treacley – I’ve now got 5 massive portions in the freezer that I reckon will last through till Christmas – can’t wait to have some with my Christmas ham…that I’ve been thinking about since September…sad I know 🙂

All chopped up and ready to go

All chopped up and ready to go

I then decided to do some puy lentils to go with – using this recipe – except I halved it and added two finely diced carrots to the lentils whilst they boiled and left out the chorizo as I decided this might make it a little healthier! I also used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine as it was all I had…other than malt but it worked really nicely – make sure you season them really well before serving though!

Super rubbish picture of the lentils cooking

Super rubbish picture of the lentils cooking

 

Red onions for the lentils

Red onions for the lentils

Whilst they were boiling away I put the chicken in a pre-heated oven (around 180 degrees C). The chicken was lovingly prepared by Mr B, who rolled a rasher of streaky bacon around each breast and held in place with cocktail skewers. You could also choose to stuff something inside the chicken but we went for simple…

Chicken roasting in the oven

Chicken roasting in the oven

The chicken takes about 25 minutes or until the bacon is crispy, just make sure it doesn’t go dry!

Then it’s a case of pulling the chicken, lentils and cabbage all together, hot, on one plate…et voila!

Roasted chicken with puy lentils and braised red cabbage

Roasted chicken with puy lentils and braised red cabbage

And it was delicious!!!! 🙂 Try it and let me know what you think?

One thought on “Recipe – Roasted chicken breast with puy lentils and braised red cabbage

  1. Pingback: My weekend in pictures « dreamalittle…dreamalot

I love getting comments!...

