How to re-upholster a seat pad…or try to…

So I FINALLY managed to re-upholster our dining table chairs. We’ve had the table for over a year now – an old teak G plan table and chairs from my Granma’s house – and I have LOATHED the pink velvet chair coverings for that entire time but secretly been very intimidated about doing anything about it.

One horrible day at work and the desire to feel like I’d achieved something, anything, that day and voila, new chair covers in under 2 hours πŸ™‚ In fact most of that time was spent removing the horrific old covers!Β  I used an IKEA fabric (only Β£4.99 a metre) and probably used only about Β£8 worth of fabric doing this.

My re-upholstery was by no means perfect/following any kind of instructions, but it has worked and I’m more than happy with the results…of course, the moment my mother sat down on one, she HAD to point out the staple she could feel round the bottom edge – but that’s what mothers are for isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

The naked chair pad - minus the horrific velvet

The naked chair pad - minus the horrific velvet

Triangles of quilt batting I used for the worn corners of the pads

Triangles of quilt batting I used for the worn corners of the pads

New fabric cut to fit the chair pad

New fabric cut to fit the chair pad

A newly covered chair pad!

A newly covered chair pad!

My lovely 'new' chairs!

My lovely 'new' chairs!

It’s funny how the chairs actually do look quite modern now!

In other news we have now got built-in shelves in the alcoves in the lounge, thanks to my lovely Dad, pictures to follow shortly (I have before and during but no after!) and I am progressing along nicely with all the pre-Christmas sewing projects, plenty to show in the New Year!

4 thoughts on “How to re-upholster a seat pad…or try to…

    • Beautifully simple! πŸ™‚ I used a staple gun (folding the fabric under intself to get a clean edge) which meant it was a lot faster but the old fabric was held on with tacks which have been in there for about 20 years so I’m not sure what longevity the staples will have!

  1. Your chairs look great – really modern! I have G-plan dining chairs that look like yours with an old greenish velvety fabric on the seats. I’ve wanted to reupholster them for a while but I don’t know how to take off the seat… Please help! πŸ™‚

I love getting comments!...

