Recipe – Halloumi, broad bean and mushroom salad

As Mr B is off ‘out and about’ this week (again), I’ve been struggling to muster any kind of enthusiasm for cooking – I hate cooking for one! – but completely forgot to cancel/reduce my Abel & Cole order so have masses of veg that I need to eat all by myself…a large box designed to feed 4 for a week will not beat me!

So, with this in mind, I came up with/stole/borrowed a few ideas from around the web and came up with the most delicious salad I’ve had in a long time…anything with halloumi is a winner for me anyway!

I sort of used this recipe but also sort of didn’t…quantities of each ingredient are completely up to you based on your greed/number of people etc.

Halloumi, broad bean and mushroom salad recipe

Halloumi frying

Halloumi frying

  1. Pod the broad beans, blanch them in boiling water (basically till they float to the top – about 2 mins).
  2. Rinse with cold water and then ‘pod’ again so the tough outer skins are taken off.
  3. Chop up some mushrooms roughly (I have no idea what variety I had but something sort of shitake like) and fry in a pan with a little oil.
  4. Once the mushrooms have started to shrink add the podded, podded broad beans and lots of salt and pepper.
  5. Fry till they all the beans look a little golden (about 3 mins).
  6. Meanwhile prepare your salad, I just had some lettuce from the box (not a clue what type!), cucumber and tomato.
  7. Slice your halloumi up.
  8. Remove the beans and mushrooms from the pan and add the halloumi to the pan.
  9. Fry the halloumi till it’s golden on all sides – keep turning and don’t be tempted to add oil as it really doesn’t need it. Should be about 3 mins.
  10. Meanwhile make your salad dressing – I just guestimated and added a little virgin olive oil, some balsamic, some Dijon mustard and some agave syrup to a jam jar, seasoned and then shook to combine but you can get more fancy and make something from a recipe obviously.
  11. Once the halloumi is cooked, add the mushrooms and beans back to the pan, stir to combine and put on top of the prepared salad.
  12. Drizzle with your salad dressing – et voila! I served mine with olive oil and rosemary bread, courtesy of the Co-op…
Nom nom!

Nom nom!

Halloumi salad

Halloumi salad

Olive oil and rosemary bread

Olive oil and rosemary bread

It’s also very nice cold for lunch the next day, not that that is what I am scoffing whilst writing this…ooops, bean in the keyboard 😉

I love getting comments!...

